Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Australasian or great crested grebe

Went looking for the grebes today as D had an appt over near the lake. What fun - leaned over to look at something and lens hood dropped in the lake. Had a look, thought - I can reach that! Well, had to lie down, sleeve up reach into the water - no go, it floated further away. Got a stick, tried to pick it out - no good, it went down into the muddy weeds. Decided I'd have to leave it there. Had one last look as I left, and there it was, visible again. Lay down again, reached in, ended up with a very wet sleeve, but worth it as I managed to grab hold of it. Success!!

So not many photos, the grebes weren't impressed with me splashing in their lake.

And at least no one walked past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.