Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Black Beauty

I ended up early afternoon finishing a call in Llantrisant, so travelled about twenty minutes to a place I've taken quite a few photo's of over the years as I've waited for the wife to finish her riding. Opposite the stables is Ogmore Castle and some very quaint stepping stones across the river.

I walked over the stones with my camera gear hoping I wouldn't slip in (many do!) and started taking some photo's. This lovely horse was happy for me to make a fuss and followed me. He stayed in the position that photo shows for ages - it was like he knew I was taking his photo. He was very friendly. My wife may have ridden him at one time but she rarely rides now. What a fabulous horse. A black beauty!  The photo was taken in black and white with the cameras 'film-grain' setting.

William de Londres ordered the building of Ogmore Castle as early as 1116 on the south bank of the river Ewenny. Today Ogmore Castle commands 52 stepping-stones across the ford of Ewenny and Ogmore rivers. These stones were built for the convenience of a love-stricken girl who lived in the castle. Her lover lived across the river at Merthyr Mawr, and their tryst was impeded by tides and floods. The stepping-stones accomplished their purpose. The lovers married in July 1233. the bridegroom was William de Breose.

Afterwards I headed for Bridgend hoping to see my friend but his wife said he was on jury service! Something I've never been called to do.

Wide Angle Wednesday Challenge:
The tags and themes for the next 3 challanges are -

27 July   (tag 'widwed38') a FREE WEEK - ANY SUBJECT!!
3    Aug   (tag 'widwed39') any plus theme of earth, wind or fire!
10 Aug    (tag 'widwed40') any plus theme of stone/s

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.