Flashing At Dawn

Sounds like something I should be arrested for ... :o|
---
Due to the sunrise being somewhat short of spectacular this morning, I thought I'd try something a bit weird ... 
---
My "emergency" pocket camera is largely automatic, which means that it decides how long the exposure should take under various light conditions ... If the light is poor (as it was this morning) then the it takes a 'long' exposure (in this case 1/4 of a second) ... Holding the camera steady for even that long before my first morning coffee, is almost impossible ... In "P" mode, the camera can be slightly manipulated and fooled into taking a quicker exposure, but at the expense of picture quality ... :o/
---
By using the flash, it reduced the exposure time to 1/60 of a second, but at this speed, less light is allowed in, making the distant area of the image - which was unaffected by the flash - look a lot darker ... :o/
---
So to give this blip at least a little bit of substance, I allowed some fern to highlight the foreground (the fern, of course, being close enough to enjoy the benefit of the flash) ... :o)
---
Then I nearly got run over by a car ... :o|

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.