Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Spiny Teasle

I think this is Dipsacus ferox, or Spiny Teasle. Teasles, though not this variety, were used for teasing out wool in the production weaving process, such as at Knockando Woolmill on Speyside.

Here, the Teasles are liberally sprinkled over the meadow. I spent a fascinating two hours this morning in the meadow and in the nearby forest with my camera, though I was warned on return by someone who lives locally that the woods are a haunt for wild boar. Let's hope that if I meet one I have my camera ready. Apparently the male attacks with his head down, making an upward slashing motion with his tusks. The female charges with her mouth open and just bites. I'm not sure you get to exercise a choice when confronted.

Nikon D40X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.