Third_eye

By Third_eye

Far East Safari

Not a safari at all, just a day trip by train and it was only to the farthest east of England - the port of Lowestoft, on what is known as The Sunrise Coast because that's where daylight arrives first in the UK.

I chose the train because I cannot walk far, and was able to make and record some new memories from a comfortable seat as we passed through the Suffolk countryside, but before boarding I saw this baby pigeon resting on a sandbag on the station platform. It did not look very well but I had no time to investigate before the train arrived.

In Lowestoft a very short walk took me to the harbour where I saw the last of the once massive trawler fleet, LT412 Mincarlo, built in Lowestoft in 1961-62, now resting (and rusting) as a heritage icon open to visitors.

I then adjourned to the Harbour Inn to enjoy a good home-cooked British roast lunch, followed by a decadent Knickerbocker Glory.

From there, back on the train refreshed in mind and body, and home to bed, pausing to photograph a green moth on my window before helping it escape to freedom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.