New Australians!

CCN and I were absolutely thrilled to receive a very exciting parcel from Canada in our Post Box today.  It was an absolute surprise (isn't that always nice).  Accompanying the box was a card explaining that the "Sockbradors" had all decided they wanted to move to Australia and there was a heart felt plea for us to "Take them in".  Now how could you refuse.  There were in fact a team of Sockbradors who had already decided where they wanted to live and with whom and made it quite clear to their real mum Paula!!  As you will see the Arwen and Soleil look alikes have really made themselves at home and were quite comfy on their chair in front of the fire.  Aren't there some wonderful people in this world of ours.

The Wombat Quiz.
Thanks to all of you who had a crack at guessing what my macro blip was all about yesterday.  I can tell you that there is quite a story to it, so bear with me.  It was in fact a macro of the underside of Mrs Swane's Peanut Slice (see extra).  Many of your in fact most were so close, but then I guess none of you have every met Mrs Swane :-)  Gemaxphoto really should be awarded the gold medal.  

Here's the story......When I was a little girls growing up in Perth, Western Australia, Mum and Dad used to take the family (Mum, Dad, my two brothers Al and Steve and me) to Mandurah for our holidays.  They used to hire a little holiday house which was in fact attached to the side of Mr and Mrs Swane's house.  Whenever we arrived at the house, Mrs Swane would present mum with a batch of her famous peanut slice.  This became a family favourite and of course mum asked for the recipe.  It has been made many, many times over the past 60 years and I decided to make it again yesterday.

I told you there would be a reward for effort, so here in live living black and white is the recipe for this absolutely world beating peanut slice.  I hope many of you manage to get around to making it.  I have to tell you though, the salted peanuts are compulsory and they do tend to make it very moreish!!

Mrs Swane’s Peanut Slice

In a Large Saucepan melt 250g of butter
Add 1/2 cup of caster sugar
Beat in an egg - combine well 
and bring to the boil gently
Remove from the stove

Beat in 2 dessertspoons of cocoa
Add packet of crushed milk arrowroot biscuits
3/4 cup of salted peanuts (chop roughly)
3/4 cup of sultanas

Make sure you have the crushed biscuits, peanuts and sultanas ready to add as soon as you remove the pot from the stove.  This helps everything combine well.

Press ingredients into a slab tin lined with alfoil

Ice with rich chocolate icing when just warm and sprinkle with coconut.


Place in fridge to cool and then slice.


PS - Quite often I'll ask CCN, which image do you think I should post today.  Her answer is invariably, "Which of these images will you be able to take on another day, I suggest you post the one that you won't ever be able to take again".  In the case of my macro image of the peanut slice yesterday, I will never ever be able to repeat it as CCN demolished it shortly after I took the photo!!!


Happy days everyone :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.