Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Oak Bowl, Almost there now.......

    This is a shot of the underneath of the bowl and I have deliberately done this to show you that where the Lathe Chuck has gripped the bowl foot it has marked it whilst I have been turning out the bowl. 
    You will see the 'what are Cole-Jaws' which I am about to use. I will be putting the bowl over the rubber studs and then opening up the jaws of the chuck so they grip the bowl from the inside, then I will mount the chuck and bowl back on the lathe so I can then carefully cut the marks off the foot of the bowl. It is not very much but it tidy's up the foot so the job looks professional which I would not have it any other way!  
I hope you are able to follow all this, but thought it would be interesting for you to see.

    The inside of the bowl I have finished turning out and have sanded it so it is very smooth. I have NOT yet put the protective food oil on it. I will do that when I have done all the external work, i.e. another good polishing.
You can see the lovely grain of the wood and it will stand out even more once the food oil has been applied. (Extra)
Next will be the finished product providing the recipient allows me to blip it. They may like to blip it themselves.

Hope you are all well.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.