POLISHED WOOD

So I nicked a few pods from our local pea tree & in the meantime I'm stashing the peas in this wee turned  box.

The box was turned by Ian A's father who took up wood-turning as a way to enhance his retirement & as it turned out he was a bit of a wizard

The wood he used here is Holm Oak - the lid fits perfectly snugly - the finish is merely a buffing wheel - no smart product - just polished wood.

The same finish was applied to the egg-shaped object - top right. I made that in 1964 from English Walnut while I was at art college. We were given a small lump of wood & told to make a "feely" - an object designed to give comfort to the fingers.

I gave this to my stepfather while he was in hospital - I don't know what happened there but the ghastly little philistine genuinely treasured my walnut "feely"...

He gave me cheap socks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.