Life Thru a Lens.

By Hayley

Blooming Marvellous

I have a bit of a thing for orchids. I see them as a challenge. I'm still quite a newbie when it comes to growing them - I have a grand collection of 3 so far and they all have flower buds developing. They are just your common-or-garden supermarket jobs and I've taken to buying them when they have finished flowering (they're really cheap then).

It has taken me about 2 or 3 years to find the right spot in the house that suits them perfectly, on a north-west facing windowsil. I water them once a week in cooled, boiled water and feed them when the buds appear. I cut the flowering stem back as soon as the last flower starts to fall which often stimulates the plant into throwing up another stem. I have also found that they prefer to be shut out behind the curtains at night, even in the winter! (which goes against the grain for a houseplant usually)

This one has been rather slow to come back into flower, but isn't it beautiful? The only thing I can't seem to put right though with this particular one, is the leaves always look on the dry and wrinkly side....any tips?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.