Is it a bird?

Busy afternoon with my grandsons. We went to the beach to throw stones in the sea and choose some for painting. The boys had an ice cream and were amazed that I didn't want one.

Next we went to the park to play football. There were a group of people standing chatting while their dogs looked bored. The kids wanted to practice goal scoring so we stayed at the football pitch end. A spaniel ran over and stole my youngest grandson's ball which caused great upset. I managed to catch the dog and retrieve said ball from his jaws. The dog ran off but came charging back when I dropped it giving it back to Jake. I asked the owner to call his dog and could we have our ball back. Here's where the fun started...

The owner said it was my fault because I threw the ball for his dog. Like I would do that after wrestling to get it back and make my grandson cry. I said I wasn't anti - dog having four of my own but I don't let them run up to little boys and steal their toys. He said it was obvious my dogs had a problem if I wouldn't let them near children. Hmmm. By then the other dogs owners had caught the dog and were trying to get the ball which by now had popped. I said don't bother with the ball but please can I have a pound to buy a replacement. He said he didn't have any money but if I gave him my address he would drop it round later. Just the type of person I want to give my address to! I walked away.

A few minutes later he walked back across the field to begrudgingly give me a pound coin as it meant that much to me. I said it meant nothing to me but everything to a little boy who'd had his ball taken.

As we left the park a large group of kids arrived with an adult all carrying footballs. I smiled to myself thinking he's welcome to take that lot on.

After that we bought art supplies and had a nice calm time back at their house painting pebbles complete with googly eyes.

I have the kids again tomorrow. Hopefully I will stay out of trouble!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.