Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

No sweat.

Err... Can't remember the weekend. Did some stuff, I'm sure. Tennis came into it. And 5 a side on Sunday morning. And Skype calls with H.

Monday was PiYo (Pilates-Yoga) and football. And I'm no longer the only man! Liam has started coming along. But, when he talks about it, he calls it "core". Which sounds much more manly.

Tuesday? A fastish 5m at lunchtime and comically bad tennis in the evening.

Today I drove the mini to the mini garage for its MOT and rode on to work. In the rain. And then the car failed on a leaky shock absorber. That'll be £30, I thought. Only you need to do the pair. £60. And it's modern technology. £120. And main dealer prices. £250. Crikey. But I was wrong. It was £600+ quid. Feck. I'll ring you back, I said. Did a bit of googling. Even pattern parts would cost around £200 but their price is way over the top. Except that I have , almost literally, no time between now and going to Cornwall. So, just for the convenience, I rang back and said Yes. Later on they rang back and said that they wouldn't have the parts until tomorrow. So much for convenience. So I left the car with them and cycled home. I usually wear sports kit and get sweaty but I'd been for a run at lunchtime and I didn't fancy putting the sodden gear again so I had a ride limited by how fast I could go wearing jeans and a T shirt without working up a sweat. Not very fast, it turns out. Tomorrow I'm taking mum to Oxford so I plan to cycle in on Friday and pick up the car then. There are too many logistics in my life.

I anticipate that it will be the last time the car goes to that garage.

Good news is that I'm missing the painful implementation of software tomorrow. It will be messy...

And, yes, I've since worked out that the sensible thing would have been to find a cheaper garage in Cornwall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.