Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Reality

My President reminded me this evening that this world is not a reality television show, it is reality.  I was also reminded of this fact when I saw Paul downtown today.  As blip followers are aware, I've known Paul for over 3 years. This afternoon when I saw Paul I knew something was different.  He was on a side of the street he normally doesn't travel.  I stopped to chat and he was very appreciative to see me. He bellowed out a big  "Hello Dave!"  before rather sheepishly asking how to get back to the shelter.  Two blocks away and he was lost, visibly concerned.   I walked him back, said goodbye and carried on about my business.  The father of a family who had seen my interaction asked me if I knew his name and wondered why I had stopped to help Paul.  I explained as best I could, and the father said thanks.  He said not many people would stop to help.  That, too, is the sad reality.  Why?  We don't live in a reality television show.  We live in reality.  Reality as I know it requires a caring society in order to make a better world.  Small acts, large acts, whatever I can do, I must do.  Not being full of fear, or hate, but love and compassion for others.  At the end of the day that's all I have to offer that is worth anything at all.  And it's totally free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.