All hands to the tiller

Today I joined the Motueka 50+ Walking Group something I have been meaning to do for some time. I just happened across someone who was going to their once a month meeting and said come and see what it's all about.
We started with the obligatory cuppa and then the meeting which reports in on walks done the previous month and in house matters. Then you could do a long walk or a short walk. As I hadn't taken lunch or drink I joined the coffee club lot and we walked round the estuary to the cafe by the marina, had coffee and muffin and walked back to the Recreation centre. I was probably the youngest there and the least fit. I will need to work hard before I join the harder walks.
Most of the rules are based around keeping older people safe in bush and mountain and all make sense. They are very well organised with a 3 month plan so you can sort out what you want to go on each week.
The faster walks don't tolerate photographers so much unless it is in their lunch hour as you can't slow the group down so I might just stick with the easy group and take my camera along.
These sparrows came calling and sat on the tiller of a yacht made into a table.An extra shows another visitor to the table fortunately not on the food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.