A blip of words

A very strange thing happened to me about half an hour back.

A phone call came to me from an unknown number. The voice on the other side spoke in broken English with a strong Hindi accent. It knew my name, where I lived, where I worked, etc. It also said that I had held a credit card for which there was a large sum of money I hadn't paid yet and I was in the list of the "defaulters". (Apparently, what these banks in India do when someone does not pay up credit card dues and other loans, is send goons to their place to rough them up a bit. And bad things have happened this way. It appears on the news now and then)

Anyway, back to the voice...I tried to respond saying that I held no such cards or had no association with the concerned bank whatsoever. My words were bluntly rebuffed. The voice knew way too much about my whereabouts and I felt positively threatened. Corruption in India often runs so deep, that nothing much is a surprise or a shock. The voice gradually moved to Hindi and I had to keep up with it in my best attempt at the language. The words got harsh on the verge of being abusive. I kept my calm though. But I was scared. I decided that I would go to the bank tomorrow morning to get things clarified. I also thought of places where I could seek legal counsel in an eventuality (credit card fraud) like this.

After a while I hung up. And then a message came from this person identifying him as an old friend I hadn't been in touch for a while. Quite a relief!! He apologised profusely, but by then I didn't mind it. Except that I had perhaps already made a fool of myself by making my fear quite evident.

But again, there is a bit more to this event than meets the eye. A lot of coincidences.

P.S. Here's my handwriting. So, if it is visible at all, this is something for the graphologists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.