NellyO

By NellyO

City skyline

Between interviews today I went up to town and walked along the south bank from the South Bank Centre to Tower Bridge. I took quite a few pictures I really liked, including some of the Olympic Ring-bedecked Tower Bridge and a couple of the statues of the Olympic mascots, but in the end I went for a more traditional view, the City of London seen from the south bank of the Thames, because I was pleased with the photo. On the left of course is St Paul's Cathedral, on the right is the Gherkin (I couldn't tell you it's official name to be honest, it's just 'The Gherkin'!), and to the left of the Gherkhin is what was the NatWest Tower (not sure what it's called these days). The boat in the middle heading for the bridge (Blackfriars Bridge) is a police launch - the Thames has its own branch of the Metropolitan Police (random factoid: when I did my nurse training a million years ago, for reasons I'm still not entirely sure about, we ended up spending a morning with the river police, including a ride on a boat up the Thames). There were a handful of people on the 'beach' too - I'm not sure I'm too keen on the idea of paddling in the Thames, at least not here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.