El Raval district, Barcelona

I walk from the center and up to Park Güell (extra shot) created by Gaudi.  I'm glad I visited it!

It's my last day in the city, and in the short time I've seen many districts of the city. I think my heart also lies in areas of the city that works as an antidote for all the beautiful streets I have fallen in love with. Therefore El Raval as my last stop. 

Some parts of El Raval district gave me flashbacks to the Palestinian refugee camps in Lebanon. The narrow streets, the shadows, "tangled" electricity wires that can't be legal, people trying to make a living with small shops, the smell of spices, mint and homemade food. Like the refugee camps in Lebanon, El Raval is over-populated and has the highest population density in Europe. 

I like this area because it's multi-cultural, it's a mixture of dirt and beauty, it's authentic, it has small independent shops of all kinds, charming cafes and the city's  best food market.  El Raval is historical like the Gothic area, but has a different pulse and energy. 

I will miss Barcelona, all of it, the minute I leave!

THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR COMMENTS, STARS AND HEARTS ON YESTERDAY'S BLIP! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.