RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

Callipepla californica

Although I have seen many California Quail, they always disappear into the brush while I am still yards away. Early this evening I found myself on a trail above the bird, and the quail was perched on limbs above a walking path. He was more concerned about the walkers below allowing me to approach close enough to capture several shots.

I went to Pilot Butte east of Bend, Oregon. (One of only 4 cities in the US, including Portland, Oregon, that has an extinct volcano within its city limits). The butte stands about 500 feet above the surrounding area, with a 380 degree view that includes The three Sisters, Broken Top and Mt. Bachelor-- all part of the Cascade Mountain Range. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pilot_Butte_(Oregon)

The extra: An old, split Juniper Tree

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.