Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Man of mystery…….

…….I'm pretty damned sure this is one the kids' great granddads on their father's mother's branch…….unless of course it's a great GREAT granddad. Unfortunately there's no-one left to ask (who would actually know!) and I've hit a brick wall on the Ancestry website……not even knowing his first name(s) certainly doesn't help. I don't suppose anyone in blipland is a closet expert in identifying vintage military dress uniforms (or knows of a website that might help) is there?? But having found his picture yesterday I somehow really want to know his story, even though he's not a relative of mine except by marriage ……..

UPDATE :: I'm now almost convinced (just waiting for a reply to a message I've sent on Ancestry to confirm) that his name is Harry Eakins, bugler in the Royal Marines, stationed at Portsmouth, b1875, d1918 ('of disease')…….but there's still a bit of mystery surrounding the birth of my MiL in 1915 over the Severn Estuary in Wales and her mother's subsequent speedy remarriage there in 1919 after Harry's death……the plot thickens…….

ADDED AN EXTRA :: Two pics I found online on someone else's family tree……..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.