Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Very tidy

No, that's not a gnarled old tree trunk in the photo - it's my gammy leg getting some fresh air.

I know I keep complaining about the speed (or lack of) of my recovery, and I really shouldn't, but you"ve all been very sympathetic, offering advice and encouragement. I'm merely documenting it so that I'll know what to expect next time. The constant dull ache in my whole leg seems to have gone. The wound is very tidy - Archie is quite intrigued and keeps wanting to lick it.

That's a whole week of morning gym sessions for JR! She"s earned the weekend off.

I had a coffee with my toast and raspy jam lunch, and kind of wished I hadn't. I go and look in the fridge, and it's full of tasty goodies, including Almond Magnums in the freezer, but I just shut the door again and wander off. I should make the most of this, really, and start my diet...

We got the sunloungers out this afternoon. Just as several gardeners over all our walls decided to mow their lawns. What a racket! No worries - didn't last long. It was so hot that JR went and changed into her cut off holiday trousers. So of course the clouds came then. But it was still most pleasant outside.

JR took Archie round the block and then went into town (again), and I walked to the chemist to collect a prescription. There and back, slowly, but not leaning on my crutches much at all. The young assistant has dished out copious amounts of drugs to me several times a month for a couple of years, and she still hasn't a clue who I am. It's not the obligatory checking names and addresses so that you get the correct packet, I'm just a complete blank to her. Every time I go in it's like the first time.

In hospital, and every time they dished out pills, several times a day, and even in the middle of the night, they asked for your name and date of birth. As if we could sneakily swap beds and get the wrong meds... Rules is rules

Archie still likes his old raggedly ball best, though he did play for a few minutes with his new one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.