LadyPride

By LadyPride

Ambush

Peroni ads all over Manchester at the moment and they aren't small.

Worked a long day and got home to relieve my inlaws from childcare only to find myself in an ambush. Mother in law back to full strength and telling me I wasn't bringing my daughter up properly and that the I was behind on the housework. Lovely. When I reacted badly (I'm afraid to say I simply burst into tears - I was too exhausted to argue) she said I'd "misconstrued" what she'd said and that what she really meant was that "she wanted to help". Mmmmm.

My father in law pretty much frogmarched her to the car and apologised. He was so angry with her. She ended up begging me forgiveness and saying sorry when I think she realised she'd been pretty out of line.

It felt like a low blow. I'm working so hard to bring in two people's wages at home and to be judged as failing as a mother and wife was pretty hard to take - however much truth there may or may not have been in it.

Couldn't get it out of my mind all night. Had an awful sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.