RossStrachan

By RossGStrachan

Survivor

John and I had to deal with an animal emergency tonight.

This young starling flew straight in to our French doors tonight and fell to the ground, lying on its back and barely moving.

I picked it up in a towel and tried to keep it warm and comfort it. It was bleeding from its beak. A little water to flush its beak and a bit more comforting and eventually it decided it wanted to fly off.

It flew off and landed on our garden fence. It was still very dazed and was on the verge of losing its grip and falling to the ground again.

I cautiously approached it but as I got within reach it flew off, only to fly head first in to our next door neightbour's window! It fell to the ground again but I was unable to get to it and had to watch on helplessly through the fence.

Eventually it sat up and was moving its head so I was a bit happier that it was going to be ok.

A little while later, the poor wee thing then had a run-in with the neighbour's dog but luckily it was well enough to fly away this time and I can only hope that it has recovered from its series of escapades.

Poor thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.