1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Not Pasta Leah!

The family that 'adopted' me when I first arrived to the kibbutz invited me over for dinner, promising ' Pasta Leah '.

Years ago I passed a quick fix pasta meal on to them, which they call Pasta Leah - cook pasta, add Philadelphia cheese and sun dried tomatoes and season to taste. You can jazz it up with other bits and bobs, depending on your mood!

Anyway, Neelie had other ideas - no quick fix for her, she was going to make the pasta from scratch. Her paternal great grand parents were from Italy, so I guess it's in her genes ( it's her sister + hubby, Chuck's 'parents' of yesterday's blip fame that do the lazy Pasta Leah thing, genes or no genes! ).

I arrived just in time for the rolling out and passing through the pasta cutter, which became a family affaire as more hands were needed to hold the lengths of pasta coming through.

The table was then set with a variety of options, as Pasta Leah wouldn't really have done the lovely fresh pasta justice! Then 10 of us sat down to eat and natter. This is what I miss about kibbutz life, the whole communal eating thing. Families and friends coming together most weekends and some week days for those all living on the kibbutz, quite often a spur of the moment thing.

Great food, even greater company. I'm back blipping now, and can't believe this was 2 weeks ago already. The extra is the girls ( finding the air con a bit too much, but the rest of us were loving it! ) and their brother, Alon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.