Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

An Ikea Handywoman

I am struggling with gender roles. In my married household, despite the fact that I was a engineer and considered to be fairly technical in my field, I never wielded a drill and was only required to "hold things straight".
Likewise, although he fed himself as a bachelor, Mr B never anticipated baking cakes or making Christmas pies.

So, as a newly minted widow, I find myself lacking in confidence and skill to screw things to the plasterboard wall. I just know that it could go horribly wrong.
So, thank goodness for Ikea furniture. I know that all I have to do is follow the instructions to achieve something that will have a usefulness for years to come. Building it around a corner should reduce the risk of toppling over, so no need to worry about raw plugs etc.

I am quite sure that I am not alone in this, so perhaps I shall investigate attending/organising some classes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.