Swimmers' Log Book

By BVD

Happy!!!

Well, last night was ... interesting.

We left the girls sprawled around the lounge watching films at around 10. Despite Doug's snoring, by 11ish I had dozed off, only to be woken soon after; "Mum, come downstairs quick, we need you."
Rushed down to find little friend spitting blood into the kitchen sink, having just taken a molar out by eating some of MY toffee! So, sorted that one, tucked them up again, just dozing off when...
Prod, prod... "Mum, we're scared, the tv's just gone off; we think there's a power-cut."
Whole road is out, so assured the girls they didn't need light to sleep and tucked them up again...
Three hours later...
Prod, prod... "Mum, my neck hurts and we can't get to sleep."
Getting a bit cross now: "What do you want me to do about it-just shut your eyes and stop talking."
Then, feeling guilty, I head downstairs to tuck them up AGAIN, but...
Half asleep, I misjudge the stairs, my ankle gives way and I end up flat on the floor, ankle throbbing. Heidi gets Doug. I tell him I need water and a straw as about to faint, (I'm well rehearsed at this) he gets water, waves it above my head awkwardly, finally puts it down, then leaves me to go to the loo. Where's nurse Chloe when I need her???
Luckily Heidi sorts out some frozen peas and I get myself back to bed again to elevate my leg and play candy crush (given up on sleep at this point). I think the girls finally grabbed a few hours' sleep, before waking again, loudly eating apples, then dozing off until their parents arrived!

Sleepovers!!! Still, they all seemed to have a good time!

As for today:
Heidi tried on her new 'running' leggings and trainers, which as you can see, she's pretty pleased with.
Doug and Joe watched films (no wifi or tv all day because power cut affected our line).
I rested my ankle.
Dad agreed to lend me his automatic car to drive to Sheffield tomorrow (luckily it's my left ankle).
Chloe called- having fun with the little (and not so little) McDobbs.
All good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.