But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Clematis.

I’ve given up preparing food when I’m camping, it’s a problem that I’m quite happy to throw money at, so strolled along to Cleopatra’s for breakfast: waffles with maple syrup and banana – if I remember correctly. On the way there, I found a public footpath between two gardens with this escaped clematis growing on my side of the fence. I spent some time finding the best view-point for a nice composition and then decided that a little fill-in flash would make an improvement and spent more time setting that up. I was quite happily flashing away when a lady came out of her back door on the other side of the fence and asked me if I was alright, though the tone of her voice suggested that the real question was, “What the **** are you doing by my back door?” Summoning up my powers of diplomacy I assured her that I was just taking a photograph of this delightful clematis. I had hoped that she would come over and engage in a little pleasant conversation to satisfy herself that I was mostly harmless and not intent on rape and pillage – or worse. However, she disappeared as quickly as she had appeared taking her prejudices with her.
 
On my return, the world of cycle racing was well established and I went through the usual rituals of preparation. The hot morning sun induced me to anoint myself with sun tan lotion, a procedure that ensured that the sun promptly disappeared and kept itself to itself for the next thirty six hours. I was pleased that I managed to make the acquaintance of a certain Mr Culverhouse, we went as far as shaking hands and wishing each other luck but time precluded any further pleasantries though, for the first time in many years I did succeed in presenting myself at the start line with over a minute to spare. Usually, I forget something essential and have to return for it and finally arrive a handful of seconds before the “off.” This year, the chaos created by Thursday’s swarm had meant that the forgotten items were all at home and irretrievable.


I've just posted yesterday's, "Showing Off."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.