Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge

This is an Egret in the Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge in Delaware. The park is over 16000 acres and is home to many birds, deer, fox, beavers, frogs, and snakes.

When I got to the park this morning, I sprayed myself with insect repellent knowing that the mosquitos and flies would be out. I took a trail toward a lookout tower and was immediately swarmed by flies - There were dozens all over my hair, face, shirt, shorts, and legs. Needless to say, I high tailed it out of the woods and back into the safety of my car. Fortunately, the bugs stayed away from the road which traverses 12 miles through the park and was able to enjoy my 5 hour excursion.

I am spending the night at the beach and hope to get up early enough to see the sunrise. Have a good night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.