snailspace

By snailspace

Yorkshire Day

Once upon a time I was born in Yorkshire. I left and returned and left again and returned again.... I have long lived in Scotland now but you can really only take the lass out of Yorkshire, you will never get Yorkshire out of the lass. No doubt one day I shall return there to live again.

A fellow Yorkie once gifted me a sweatshirt bearing the legend "Made in Sheffield" and I planned to wear that today and take a selfie. Alas, it cannot be found. Here instead is one the t-shirt a group of friends had made in the days when we frequented Usenet. We posted to uk.local.yorkshire aka u.l.y and named ourselves ULYgans. I still use ulygan as my handle on various systems and sites, sometimes ulygantwo if another ulygan got in first.

One day I hope to have a tattoo in the form of a set of Hallmarks reading "Sterling Silver, Made in Sheffield, 1953" On the inside of my left ankle, I think. The Sterling Mark is a lion, the Sheffield Mark is a crown and the Sheffield Year mark for 1953 is an L in a shield shape.  To my great disappointment, the Yorkshire Rose now used for the Sheffield Mark would not be accurate. Perhaps I could have it thrown in as an extra adornment... maybe inside my right ankle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.