Dad's mate

This is my Dad's mate and his wife outside of their wonderful small holding near to 'The Cleugh of Meggie's Dene Burn...'

A story often told of Old Meg the witch who was burned at the stake and buried in the Dene with a stake through her blackened heart. According to the 16th century legend in springtime a rose thorn blossoms and it covers the grave of Old Meg, and as one rose thorn dies, another springs up in perpetual memory of someone who was really just an old lady who knew the medicinal properties of herbs, but back then she was accused of being a witch so she was killed and refused a Christian burial.  

I'm going back there soon, to visit Meg's grave and have tea with this lovely couple, I promised to take some portraits of their old dog Nell who should have died last year from cancer, but instead, she ran toward me today, thriving on tender loving care, custard, the radio, a most comfortable bed and steroids. 

This lovely couple lost their only son in a road traffic accident when he was just a teenager, such tragedies happen, but life goes on, and here they are extraordinary in their ordinariness. Im glad I called in today. 

It's also my daughters birthday today, but their all off camping so I didn't get to see her but we had a birthday hug yesterday instead. Nite Nite all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.