Whiteout

A fine morning soon turned into a whiteout afternoon, as can be seen in this picture. This is the riverside path in Appleby – the river on the left is low and looking very calm. Hard to believe that, in the floods, the same river overflowed, allowing water to enter the Leisure Centre, the building on the right to a depth of around two feet. At the time there were 23 demountable steel gates, but these proved inadequate in the face of all that water. Now there is this brand new, permanent flood defence wall.
  
I was down here as I have been to the Medical Centre. I do have a cartilage tear in the knee and will more than likely have to have surgery. I have an appointment with a surgeon, but am quite apprehensive, as surgery is a whole unknown area for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.