Clean Slate

By cleanslate

Tomatoes

I'm like a little kid with these stupid tomatoes.  It's my first time *waves newbie flag*... but it's been such a painstakingly long process.  
There were teeny tiny seeds in trays in the conservatory (much to Mr CleanSlate's dismay) and I went in daily to talk to the soil and see whether it was feeling "sprouty".  
It wasn't.  
AGES.  
It took ages.  But then there were shoots... and eventually trays full of seedlings.  I was joyful.  Until I realised I was supposed to choose my favourites to put in grow bags.  
THIS WAS TERRIBLE.  
So I did the only sensible thing and brought morbid no.1 son into the decision making process.  
This did not go well. 
He was like Phoebe from Friends trying to save the Christmas trees that hadn't fulfilled their Christmas destiny.  Not a Merry day in the CleanSlate household. 
I whittled down to 8, with 2 grow bags (some were sharing - I know, I know - what can you do)  And one of those newspaper recycling boxes had all the other healthy looking ones, so I could quietly feel they died on their own and I wasn't (no.1 son didn't think I was) complicit. 
But here we are.  We have had huge growth.  Only slightly complicated by the multiple stems/trunks(?) in each hole.  
So flowers came WEEKS ago, then more flowers, and more flowers and repeat.  
But nothing else.  
So I googled and discovered you should be encouraging pollination with an electric toothbrush *blushes*.  Surely you should let these things happen naturally??!  
Then just at the point when I was trying to decide whether to use our toothbrush with my head or Mr CleanSlate's...  there it was... lovely little baby tomato. 
I've shown everyone.  
No-one's that interested it seems.  It's possible you can buy tomatoes cheaply and easily and this is really more trouble than it's worth - never-the-less, today I give you.... 

tiny baby tomato :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.