Housewife's Choice

By christilou

Poor, tired.....

Little B!  I've had a bad back this week, I know I did it on Saturday doing my housework but somehow tonight I began the panic process which sent my mind into overdrive.  I had cancer in 1999 and I know it was a long time ago now but still, as soon as I get some kind of pain I start to imagine the worst and somehow my brain will get me into panic mode :(  This evening I was on my own whilst my husband was out with the boys for curry.  Little Ro suggested a distraction technique and once hub arrived home reeking of curry and booze I decided to forsake my own bed and sleep with her instead.  She put Will & Grace on her DVD and I arranged my back with a cushion under it and tried to sleep (well she does have a 5ft bed!)  However Little B was most, and I mean MOST put out!  First he jumped on my tummy and curled up looking at me reproachfully (this is normally his side of the bed) and once the lights went out we spent a few hours doing a dance with me, unable to haul him up onto the bed because of my back, having to get out of bed and lift him back after he stood on the floor woofling to be helped up and each time spending about one minute trying to settle before jumping back onto the floor.  He was obviously very unhappy with the arrangements!  After a while he did settle and we three slept...... the distraction definitely did the trick.  I still have a bad back but the anti inflammatories seem to be helping and as long as I stay upright and don't try to bend I'm ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.