Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Cows in the mist

placid animals
curious about the man
who came to visit

Lots of them around but with the weather there was, these appealed to me even more and I stopped the car to take a few photos (of them and a nice boxer bitch). By the way, I fixed the link in my previous blip, if you'd like to have a look.

As I was photographing these cows, a van stopped in front of my car. Thinking it might be the owner, I approached the driver's door, which soon opened. A man came out. He never said if he was the owner, but asked me who I was photographing for. When I said it was just for me, he relaxed and told me he was also a photo enthusiast, but in a very different field: motor sports. Also, he's a Nikonite, so I didn't have much to say to him. Just kidding: we spent a half hour in the drizzle talking shop.

This is an aspect of photography I am discovering: that it can lead to nice conversations. In my daily photography in Paris, photography is a mostly solitary activity, which I don't mind as it gives me a moment to be alone and concentrate solely on the photos themselves. Here, it takes another dimension.

Oh, and I thought I'd tell you: I had sent a link to my Flickr album of his show to Titom the bombarde player I saw on Sunday and he answered to congratulate and thank me for my work and ask if he could post a few of the pics to his FB account. Of course I said yes, as he said himself that of course he would credit me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.