Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Unpacking the glasses

So how many blips can you get out of a new cupboard?
The cupboard is now completed and ready to be filled.
So, after at least a year in temporary storage, wrapped in table linen and popped into a plastic laundry basket, the glasses emerged again into the daylight.

I enjoyed unwrapping them and remembering the stories and memories that accompanied them. Each day of grief is a surprise, yesterday the same exercise would have been heart breaking, but today it connected me with stories of love and friendship that continue.
At the front, there are the remaining 3 Danish aquavit glasses from a good Danish friend whom I shared a house with during my time studying in Copenhagen, there are some of our cut crystal wedding glasses from my parents.
There is one remaining crystal champagne flute. I have no idea when we lost its partner. I bought them with a very expensive bottle of champagne for David's Christmas in 1995 when I was head over heels in love with him.

In the back, you can see some large wine glasses that were given to David by his French colleagues when he left Paris to travel the world with me. They are terrifyingly delicate and hence have rarely been used. That's a bit sad really. I should find a time to enjoy them a bit more.

Happy times with a bright blue Winter sky shining through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.