Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Play For Today - The Cure

Not the best photo I've ever taken, but it fit the song title at least. While this music challenge has been fun I'm looking forward to april when I can get back to normal blips. The discarded Christmas Tree (in March!!) and the discarded bike wheel I spotted today were both far more photogenic than this.

I'm now at home working while Roz and Maddy are away ten pin bowling.

Todays shot is a track by The Cure inspired by the BBC programmes of the same name from 1970 - 1984 before TV executives decded good programmingmeandmaking reality shows and adding strictly to the name of jaded old dancing shows. Admittedly I was only old enough to appreciate the last few years really having been born in 1973. I have a recollection of watching The Blackstuff (and subsequently the follow on series Boys from the blackstuff) with my dad and apparently that was broadcast in 1980. What I recall of it was really well done and a quick look on wiki reveals that there were some enormously talented people involved. That said I think I'll wait until the price drops a bit before buying any of the DVD's.

The Cure themselves as I'm sure many of you will be aware started life as a three piece in the late 70's and are still going today. The number of people in the band has changed over the years as has the actual lineup with Robert Smith being the only constant (Lol Tolhurst is probably his longest serving collaborator but even he quit the band for a while).

This is one of their best tracks and certainly one of my favourites along with Jumping Someone Else's Train and Just Like Heaven. Personally I feel they really went downhill from about the point of Friday I'm in Love, but I know lots of people don't share that view. I did think that 2004's eponymously titled album was a bit of a return to form.

Anyway here's the play for today. This is one of the few videos where Smith didn't wear his trademark makeup and he just doesn't look right without it somehow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.