lots of stuff

I have been determined to get in a long run up here in the lakes but didn't manage it yesterday as our tent had flooded so we needed to sort that. This morning I woke up with a heavy heart because today is kind of a weird day, marking two years since Mum died. I decided a run would help and made my way from Buttermere to Keswick (in a ridiculous ensemble of clothes and wet trainers thanks to yesterday's storms). It was a beautiful run but when I got to Keswick I was physically spent so ended up walking through the town, a sweaty mess, sobbing liberally. Running is cheaper than therapy at least!

Later, we ate delicious Buttermere Ayrshires luxury ice cream (they'd sold out of raspberry pavlova so I had passion fruit) and walked round Buttermere with the children. We had such a wonderful time and chatted to a family who were overseeing the set-up of a ginormous tipi on the shores of the lake - they will celebrate a wedding there this weekend. The bride was jumping about in absolute glee which set me off on another weep fest.

And now a quick pint in the bridge and back to the tent for burgers and hot chocolate.

A(nother) day I'd have loved to share with Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.