stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Stonehenge

Stonehenge has been on my bucket list for a long time. I finally got to see it today. It was impressive, but... something was missing.

I'm not sure what it was. It was smaller than I expected. The site was crowded with tourists and understandably you weren't allowed near the stones. Perhaps that was the reason, but there just wasn't the connection that existed at Brodgar or Callanish when I visited there.

I'd like to go back one day. English Heritage used to allow out of hours visits to the stones with limited numbers and access into the circle itself but I'm not sure if they still do that. Must check and see.

It was a great day out though and another tick on that bucket list!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.