Langue de Chat (Cat Tongue)

Got these small cookies from one of my friends. Hikone is a city in Shiga Prefecture, located in the western part of the main island of Japan.

In Japan, somehow this type of cookie is called Langue de Chat, which is actually French. Since I remembered the name by its sounds and didn't even try to write it up, until today I haven't really noticed there is 'chat' in the name; the word, meaning 'cat' in English, is one of just a few French words that I remember. Now I realise how ignorant I could be when it comes to very familiar things named in a language I don't know much about.


All the lectures finished today. In the final lecture we discussed the use of English prepositions for four hours which was a lot of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.