Third_eye

By Third_eye

Royal History

Historic Framlingham Castle, Suffolk which has a long history, serving at various times as a fortress and poor house, and famously remembered as the place where Mary Tudor took refuge during her bid for the monarchy, has been one of my favourite places for a day out since I came to live in the county 12 years ago and enjoyed walking on the battlements and seeing the views from its 13 towers.

I had not been there since I stopped driving and the bus service was discontinued, but had an unexpected opportunity yesterday when my brother, who still drives, came on a surprise visit and asked me if there was anywhere I would like to go. We did not venture inside as we now both have difficulty walking, but I was able to grab these shots of the exterior.

The castle is well known for its history-based educational and entertainment events, one of which is currently in progress.

Sorry I have not been commenting regularly but I have been badly let down by Specsavers, who took my money for new glasses six weeks ago and have still not been able to deliver a pair that stay on for more than 30 seconds without falling off, and am having difficulty working on screen. I am now awaiting the promised return of my money so that I can take my business elsewhere after more than 20 years as a loyal customer. The problem is with their Home Visit Service, which I tried for the first time this year because of my difficulty getting out, but now regret.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.