BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

A Belated Birthday Treat

Today I got to take advantage of the lovely gift my Mum bought me for my birthday in April - a Bird of Prey Flying Experience at Long Sutton Butterfly Park in S Lincolnshire - the falconer was Eleanor (welcome to blip, Eleanor!!) - who made the day extra special by her obvious love of all things winged and feathered! I learnt a lot about birds of prey and got to handle and fly four different ones - an amazing afternoon.

This is Megan - a Harris Hawk - she was not part of the actual hands-on experience but Phoenix, a young male Harris Hawk was - wow, was he quick to spot that food and land on my gloved arm!!!!

It was a superb day - thank you so much, Mum for the unusual and fabulous gift - and thank you Eleanor for making it all very enjoyable - sadly the Park is closing at the end of this month and will be missed by all the people who have visted regularly over the years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.