dish of the day (or rather, yesterday)

Apologies for blipping our courgette plant again, but this flower looked quite spectacular first thing this morning.  This is the first courgette I’ve every grown and I’ve become quite attached to it.  It’s not quite in the same league as my old dog, but we’re making progress.

Last night I picked the first courgettes and Anniemay excelled herself as Queen of the Spiralizer.  The dish was so spectacular - in both appearance and taste - that I wanted to blip it.  But I’d eaten half of it and had already posted that day’s blip.  So I shall describe it instead.  (JohnRH - if you happen by, look away because it involves beetroot).

So; baked spiralized root vegetables with salmon.  

First of all, she spiralized courgettes, carrots, beetroot, onions and (new) potatoes.  

Now this last one is a bit of a surprise.  Why? I hear you ask.  How? is more like it.  We only had new potatoes.  

I’m about to ask how she plans to spiralize something as small as a new potato, but she’s already done it, thus demonstrating why she wears this particular crown.

Any root vegetables will do.  These are just what we happened to have to hand.

The spiralized veggies are then laid on baking foil and a piece of salmon plonked on top.  Seasoned with salt and pepper, then a squirt of lemon juice and finally a few sprigs of parsley.  Then fold the foil into a parcel.

AM actually makes two parcels, one for each of us.  She also does it so neatly it looks like something from the present-wrapping department in John Lewis.  Going this far is not really necessary.

In the oven for 20’ at 200C.  

It looks spectacular when unpacked; strands of red, orange, green and white all merging into one another, with the perfectly cooked fish on top.  Tastes pretty good too.  And healthy - no added oil or fat.  And incredibly quick and easy.  


I know a picture is worth a thousand words so next time I’ll blip before I eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.