Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Shark's Back

Made a quick dash up to Macclesfield before I started work this morning to choose an additional piece of granite for our kitchen.  As ever I checked the weather forecast for the area and saw that it was foggy first thing.  I set the alarm for 4:15 am and joined the HGVs taking advantage of quiet motorways to be there for sunrise.

Initially it looked like a fruitless effort, then suddenly a warm glow could be seen along the horizon so I started driving towards the light.  By the time I got to the light I was near the twin peaks of Chrome and Parkhouse Hills.  I've walked the area many times but have still not climbed Parkhouse Hill, despite it being the lower of the two.  The hills gain their distinctive shape from the exposure of limestone reef in the Upper Dove Valley.

I decided to drive around the area and identify the various vantage points that allowed views of these hills.  I've added some extra images from these  points.  The lighting conditions remained favourable and my only regret was that the Flash Stores didn't open at the time they advertised on the door so I could have a bacon butty.

I got to the factory as they opened, chose the piece we wanted and headed back home to start work.  Not a bad first few hours of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.