TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Homegrown courgettes (tomorrow's tea)

This is the first year that I have grown courgettes and I will definitely grow them again. This image shows one plant of three with lots of lovely new, young courgettes.
After a slow start it has been a busy day today and I am in danger of having done too much. Always the way.
Went to the doctor's surgery to collect a prescription, then went on to Shrewsbury to the monthly farmers' market. On the way home I dropped in at Wickes and picked up a pump for the water butt. Once home I used the pump to top up the pond with water from the water butt and then distributed the contents of compost bin 2 onto the perennial border.
I do find the creation of compost a really amazing process - two barrowloads of compost from mountains of raw material.
My final job was to move the contents of compost bin 1 to the now empty compost bin 2. Problem. I obviously didn't follow tried and tested methods to structure my compost and found a central core of the most disgusting stuff that smelled like the inside of a ruminant's stomach and was the consistency of sloppy poo! yuk. Just as well I am turning it over - maybe it will benefit from the introduction of oxygen and a good shake up. Rain stopped play so I'll have to finish it tomorrow.
Today has been a truly amazing day as far as the Olympics are concerned. It really is good for the UK for developing a sense of national identity; everywhere you go people are talking about our achievements. Go Team GB!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.