IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Loosestrife and Cloud...

A busy day. I had a couple of hours work in the morning and then returned the marquee to the friend from whom we borrowed it. Various bits and pieces to sort out seemed to take up almost the whole day: showing Jess how to water the garden while we are away, weeding the veg garden, ringing the architect who is helping plan our garden room, printing out documents for our trip, picking redcurrants, packing stuff away and so forth. 
Jess had to go up to the local pub where she was employed for several weeks, to collect her last wages. She was treated very poorly  - discouraging for a young person who was doing her best in one of her first jobs - offered shifts just as and when it suited them, left without work but with no communication or explanation when they didn't need her, and her last wages were paid unnecessarily late. I offered to drive her to the pub though it is only less than a mile away and said that I had half a mind to talk to the manageress. Jess wanted me to. So I came in with her and had a firm word about how I felt they had behaved shabbily and that was no way to treat an employee, and a young person at that, just because they could get away with it. I was met with a rather cool and cynical response, but at least we made our point firmly and politely, and left. 
So this evening and tomorrow morning I will be gathering stuff together and packing: tomorrow afternoon we are off to the airport and bound for the Azores.
I hope you will have a good weekend.

Not a lot of photography happening this week but I did potter round the garden this afternoon with my iPad looking for a quick image...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.