Our Crepe Myrtle Tree

I drove around today looking for a big in bloom crepe myrtle because getting the one in my backyard and getting the feel of how large it is was difficult, but in the end  I realized how special ours is.  This is taken from a third story window.. A truly amazing tree.  Beautiful structure in winter.  Greens up and then when it is so hot muggy and miserable  it blooms and unlike spring blossoms  keeps blooming until late September. Driving around I realized how much the colors of Crepe Myrtle add to the scenery.  We are told we are getting into a drought.  I understand that, but we have had a lot of quick heavy rain showers and then hot hot hot weather.  Crepe Myrtles just keep on going.  Ours was probably planted when our house was built in 1958.  We treasure it as it keeps on giving. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.