Where Next?

By HK

Fireworks Competition: Brazil

My last day at work until 27th August was very busy! In the evening we met Paddy down at English Bay and looked for a good spot to watch the fireworks competition from. Yesterday I was at a meeting, listening to audio works made in collaboration with the Contemporary Art Gallery along the theme of Scarcity. Someone has used the sound of fireworks in their piece and there was a brief discussion about the wastefulness of fireworks. I heard that each of the countries taking part in this competition had a million pound budget which leads me to think What does one million pounds look like? I like these fireworks which have drawn the largest crowds I've seen in Vancouver and they are one of the rare free events in the city, making them something for everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.