Life through the lens...

By ValC

Summer Time.

 Love that song too.
Up early, and off to Harrogate, and Harlow Carr gardens
Many others had the same idea, as the car park was already half full at 10am.
Such a glorious summers day. 25C Perfect temperature for me, and just a slight breeze. ( I wore my big sun hat of course.)
Although there were so many people it was very peaceful and not at all busy.
Mind you the play area was full of families with children enjoying themselves. No screaming and shouting though. All the children were very well behaved. I wonder if it is the calming influence of the garden.
Lots to see and photograph. Including an orchid display.
However I liked this shot of the newly planted wild flower meadow. Especially with the blue sky.

Two things we did see today.
One a trial of different sunflowers. The one I liked was called " Munchkin".
A multi- headed variety, with huge flowers, but only about 2/3 foot high.

The other plant, which was new to me, was called a TomTato.
Grown in a sack, the aerial part of the plant produces a delicious crop of cherry tomatoes. Meanwhile, below the ground, the plant produces a heavy yield of potatoes !
Certainly one to try next year!

Back home and am about to sit out in the garden, with a cuppa, and read the Yorkshire Post.
Then we have decided to have a BBQ at tea time.
Hope you are all making the most of this lovely day too.

Unfortunately I have used up all me extra photos. I wonder if there is a way of deleting some so that I can add more?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.