Cross stitch

We have friends joining us for a meal this evening. I was shopping in the village early this morning, then have been busy all day, preparing food. Still plenty to do but I'm taking a blip break.
One if the pleasures of entertaining is setting the table. Out comes the silver and the best China and glasses. Today I am using cross stitched place mats that were some of the first embroideries I did, very many years ago. When I lived in Venezuela there were a lot of Dutch women and they introduced me to the chart designer Clara Waever whose kits we used to order by post from Holland. Clara's flower designs are quite the best. Her daughter has taken over from her, but she doesn't match her artistry.
My guest tonight does embroidery so she will appreciate the table mats, I'm sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.