This time you gave me a mountain

Our previous couple of walks were relatively easy though long and hot. But today we climbed about 700 metres up a very steep and slippery path to this big white cross which is visible from our camp site. It was baking hot too. We should have set out earlier but we were in the full force of the midday sun most of the time , with not all that much shade.
I did remark to LooseCanon at one very sweaty steep point that this is usually when we see a runner jogging effortlessly past us uphill. Sure enough we did see one but he was coming downhill having already , I imagine , reached the top. He looked very red and very hot, and he was having to pick his way carefully because there were loose earth and small stones to negotiate. Coming down was extremely tricky and LooseCanon slipped and grazed his knee. ( Could have been worse, the camera was fine. ). He is now in need of a medicinal beer or two.
One annoying thing happened today. When I came to look at my photos , they all except the first few have a big blurry splodge in the middle. There's a big blurry splodge of something, sweat probably, right in the middle of my polarising filter! Grrrrr.
I hope it's not too evident on this one, showing the cross Cruz de la Viorna, with the town of Potes all the way down below in the valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.