Good News

In 2005 the University Press of Mississippi published my little book: DANCING WITH MY FATHER. I wrote the book for myself as a means of healing the emotional anguish that could still arise in reaction to his long ago abandonment of his wife and children for the sake of his art. (I was two and a half at the time.)

I wrote the first vignette after returning home from his centenary exhibit at The Smithsonian Museum in Washington DC, and it quickly became apparent that the story was ready to be told. The vignettes/the memories poured forth. I offered the first thirteen to Seetha Srinivasan, the then director at the press, and I found a companion to my process.

DANCING WITH MY FATHER was born in the spring of 2005, and there followed book signings that were also performances. I read, recited and danced the book further into being. It was an amazing sort of completion of the healing process. So many people could relate to my experiences. My healing just might play a part in the healing of others.

Of course I had to travel; my sixty-one year old body must dance, and I must collapse from exhaustion at times. But it was so worth it. It didn't go on for long. Four months later Hurricane Katrina pretty much put an end to all things normal or extraordinary for a considerable period of time.

Over the years my little book has continued to speak to those who found it. Not many... So I wasn't surprised when the manager of the museum shop told me she couldn't get copies. She also told me the book was out of print. But no one at the press got in touch with me, and my present life was carrying me along. Then a volunteer at the museum said the book club was reading my book again, and asked about getting copies. So I called the press and left a message for the new director to please call me and let me know about my book's current situation. On Thursday he called with good news.

The first thing Craig Gill said to me was: "Your timing is exquisite." He went on to propose re-issuing DANCING WITH MY FATHER in spring of 2017. In paperback form and also as an e-book... We went on to have a lovely conversation, and I felt as though I was back on a path that had been abruptly blocked eleven years ago. Exhilarated, a little frightened, but also surprisingly strong and sure. The path had re-opened.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.