The second half of life..

By twigs

Hands Across The Sand

I heard about this peaceful demonstration today and had decided that it would make for some great photo opportunities. Little did I know that also going on at the very same time and place was a local Waka Ama competition :) Photo opps were so plentiful that it was difficult to pick just one image today. (You can view the silver and bronze medallists here!)

This one won gold in the end because I liked the symbolism - a group of concerned people linking hands to show their opposition towards offshore drilling which, if the land's decision-makers take notice of will ultimately mean that our young people can continue to run and play safely on our beaches.

Who could forget the Piper Alpha disaster or the Gulf Of Mexico diaster and the untold damage it caused to the environment and to shorelines? And here in New Zealand, although not the result of offshore drilling, we've had a very stern reminder about just how environmentally disasterous offshore oil spillages can be on our precious coastline.

(I think the young lad was with the waka-ama crews. If you check it out large you can just make out 2 crews far offshore during one of their races.)

Unfortunately for me, I managed to hurt my back whilst taking these images - too much bending down I guess. I've been almost immobilised for a lot of the day - it feels like quite a few steps backwards :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.